Visiting Scientists

Individual scientists are invited for extended periods to work on scientific subjects at the forefront of research in areas of interest to ISSI. Their stay may include periods of joint activity with other colleagues and ISSI staff. The results of this research are published as books or in major scientific journals, with appropriate acknowledgement to ISSI.

Johannes Geiss Fellowship

The Johannes Geiss Fellowship (JGF) is established to attract to ISSI - for limited duration visits - international scientists of stature, who can make demonstrable contributions to the ISSI mission and increase ISSI’s stature by their presence and by doing so will honour Johannes Geiss for his founding of ISSI and his contributions to ISSI, and for his many contributions to a broad range of space science disciplines.

In 2015 George Gloeckler from the University of Michigan, USA has been elected as the first JGF recipient.

In 2016 Kurt Lambeck from the Australian National University, Australia, has been elected as the second JGF recipient.

In 2017 Gary Zank from the University of Alabama, USA, has been elected the third JGF recipient.

Following scientists are working at ISSI in the course of the 23th business year:

Bill Hartmann, Planetary Science Institute, Tucson, USA, working period: 11.-22.9.2017.

Götz Paschmann, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany, working period: 28.9.-6.10.2017.

Volodymyr M. Reshetnyk, Kyiv National Taras Shevchenko University, Ukraine, working period: 26.7.-9.8.2017.

Yuri Skorov, Institute for Geophysics and Extraterrestrial Physics, University of Braunschweig, Germany, working period: 27.7.-9.8.2017.

Gary Zank, Johannes Geiss Fellow 2017, University of Alabama, USA, working period: 8.10.-4.11.2017.



List of Previous Visiting Scientists of ISSI >